Monday, March 3, 2014

Repsol Honda's Dani Pedrosa Reports on MotoGP Bridgestone Tire Test at Phillip Island

Press Release

Phillip Island Testing

Monday, March 3rd 2014

  Australia - Testing Report 

Bridgestone tyre test commences in Phillip Island
Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa has finished the first day of the three-day tyre test in Australia, completing 88 laps (more than any other MotoGP rider) with a best lap of 1’29.961 on lap 43 placing him 4th.
Bridgestone brought eight rear slick tyres per rider to this test – two 2013 specification tyres and six new experimental tyres with changes to construction, compound and shape. Today, Dani’s programme was to start on the 2013 tyres – for comparison purposes – and then perform short runs (of at least 6 laps) on the experimental tyres to collect initial data.
Tomorrow and Wednesday longer runs of 15 laps or more will be requested, depending on weather, to gather sufficient information to take back to Bridgestone in Japan. If possible, they would like each rider to complete a full race simulation on the final day.
Dani Pedrosa

4th - 1'29.961

“This morning I spent time riding to regain my feel for this track, and then after lunch I began the testing programme with the new compounds. We've been evaluating the different tyres that have been brought here, and tomorrow we will continue our testing with another compound”

testing results

  Phillip Island Testing
1Jorge Lorenzo99ESPYamaha Factory RacingYAMAHA1'29.213
2Valentino Rossi46ITAYamaha FactoryYAMAHA1'29.576
3Cal Crutchlow35GBRDucati TeamDUCATI1'29.730
4Dani Pedrosa26ESPRepsol Honda TeamHONDA1'29.961
5Andrea Dovizioso4ITADucati TeamDUCATI1'29.965

Circuit Information

View circuit page at
Length4.448 m / 2.764 miles
Left corners7
Right corners5
Longest straight900 m / 0.559 miles
Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit
Victoris 3922

Pole Position
1m 27.899s (182.1 km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2013)
Race Lap
1m 28.108s (181.7 km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2013)
Race time
29m 07.155s (179.1 km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2013)
2012 Winner
Casey Stoner (Honda)
2013 Winner
Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Keep it nice, but keep them coming!

---Please note---You can leave comments anonymously, but you can also leave them while logged into Google, Yahoo and other platforms.
We'd love to hear from you!

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.