Saturday, June 27, 2015

AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame to induct Keith McCarty, Alex Jorgensen

AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame to induct Keith McCarty, Alex Jorgensen

Class of 2015 to be inducted Oct. 17 in Orlando, Fla.

PICKERINGTON, Ohio -- The American Motorcyclist Association has announced two more inductees of the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Class of 2015. Race team manager Keith McCarty and dirt-track racer Alex Jorgensen will be inducted Oct. 17 in Orlando, Fla., as part of the 2015 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at the Orange County Convention Center.

"I'm pleased to welcome two additional inductees to the Class of 2015," said Ken Ford, a member of the AMA and American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation boards of directors. "Keith McCarty was instrumental in the launch and growth of numerous Hall of Fame careers. His mastery of the preparation, skill and strategy necessary to excel in racing have contributed to numerous AMA National Championships. Alex Jorgensen enjoyed one of the longest successful dirt-track careers. He also is one of the sport's most versatile athletes, with wins across eras, disciplines and brands."

 McCarty and Jorgensen join motocrosser and off-road racer Rodney Smith and entrepreneur and patron John Parham in the Class of 2015. The two final inductees of the Class of 2015 will be announced shortly.

Keith McCarty's first job as a motorcycle mechanic was for U.S. Suzuki in 1973 for rider Mike Runyard. In 1975-76, he wrenched for AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famer Tony DiStefano, winning two 250cc AMA National Motocross Championships. When the motocross schedule didn't conflict, he worked with the Hall of Fame duo of Erv Kanemoto and Gary Nixon in road racing.

In January 1977, McCarty began his long career with Yamaha as the mechanic for AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Legend Bob "Hurricane" Hannah. McCarty has remained in Yamaha's racing division ever since, working as mechanic, supervisor, department manager and, most recently, division manager for all of Yamaha's U.S. racing activities. McCarty, who lives in Orange, Calif., is known not only for his technical knowledge, but also for inspirational prowess and organizational acumen that transcends racing disciplines, making him not only an asset for Yamaha but also a valued member of the motorcycling community.

Alex "Jorgy" Jorgensen exemplifies the talent, skill and diverse abilities that are trademarks of the greatest AMA Grand National competitors in history. Of the handful of riders who have wins in all four dirt-track disciplines -- short track, TT, half mile and mile -- Jorgensen is the only rider who achieved the feat in his first four Grand National wins, while competing on four different motorcycles -- Can-Am, BSA, Norton and Harley-Davidson.

Jorgensen's career boasts a number of special wins. He is the last rider to win an AMA Grand National on a Norton or BSA, both wins coming at Ascot. He earned Can-Am its first AMA Grand National win. He also logged the first AMA Grand National victory on Rotax's four-stroke single at the Ascot TT. From 1982 to 2004, the Rotax engine would dominate the highest levels of short-track and TT competition. Along with Gary Scott, Jorgensen holds the record of most AMA Grand National wins at Ascot with six.

The AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame induction ceremony is open to the public and, for the second consecutive year, takes place in conjunction with the AIMExpo -- the fast-growing and impactful event that brings together consumers, dealers, manufacturers, and the world press in one location for global product launches, demo rides, motorcycling seminars, and much more.

Tickets to the 2015 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are available now at Regular entry is $25 per person. VIP tickets that include an exclusive reception, reserved seating and the AIMExpo show admission are $90 per person.

For updates on the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, keep an eye on, as well as the AMA's social media channels, including Facebook ( and and Twitter: @AMA_Riding.

About the American Motorcyclist Association
Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world's largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders' interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling.
For more information, visit
Not a member? Join the AMA today:  

Media contact: James Holter
Phone: (614) 856-1900, ext. 1280

No comments:

Post a Comment

Keep it nice, but keep them coming!

---Please note---You can leave comments anonymously, but you can also leave them while logged into Google, Yahoo and other platforms.
We'd love to hear from you!

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.