Monday, November 3, 2014

2014 World Supersport Champion Michael van der Mark Wins Season Finale Race for Team Pata Honda in Qatar

Van der Mark rounds off stunning season with dominant Qatar podium
Share on Twitter Share on Facebook
Losail - Qatar    02.11.2014

Van der Mark rounds off stunning season with dominant Qatar podium
Pata Honda’s Michael van der Mark concluded his domination of the 2014 World Supersport championship with a classy and dominant win under the floodlights at Losail in Qatar this evening.
Starting from second place on the grid, the 2014 World Supersport champion shot into an early lead on the first of 15 laps at the 5.380km Losail International Circuit and was never headed, breaking the old 2009 lap record no fewer than three times.
His Pata Honda team-mate, Lorenzo Zanetti, finished in seventh place this evening. The 27-year-old Italian battled for a podium position in the opening laps but was unable to sustain his challenge after losing rear grip.
Zanetti finishes the season in fourth place overall in the championship points standings, but has the satisfaction of having taken a popular race victory at his home round of Imola in May.
Meanwhile, van der Mark’s emphatic victory this evening over Thailand’s Ratthapark Wilairot, on another Honda CBR600RR, and Jules Cluzel, who finished third, was his sixth of the season, to go with four second places – the lowest position in which the 22-year-old has finished all year.
The Dutch ace begins a new chapter in his career with the Pata Honda World Superbike team in 2015 and will test the team’s Honda CBR1000RR Fireblade SP for the first time in three weeks time at Jerez in Spain.
Michael van der Mark

Michael van der Mark - 1st

It’s been a really great season. At the beginning we all knew that it might be possible to fight for the championship and we achieved it in an incredible way. Six wins, four second places and only one zero in the first round is a good record to finish with. The team showed how good they are and how good the CBR is. And even myself, I think I showed I had everything to win the title. Up to this weekend I really wanted to win my last race in World Supersport and now I’m really looking forward to a new step and a new adventure next year. I have a lot of work to do and a lot to learn, but I think I’ve grown a lot this year and I can’t wait for next season.
Lorenzo Zanetti

Lorenzo Zanetti - 7th

I had a good start to the race but after the first three or four laps I started to struggle with the rear tyre dropping. When this happens I start to push the front and I start to fight with the bike. We haven’t been able to find a solution to this all season and even though it’s possible to do a fast lap in qualifying, the race is often very different. It’s disappointing because I think I have had the potential all season to fight for the podium, but it has not always been possible.
Pieter Breddels

Pieter Breddels - technical co-ordinator

Michael just showed this evening the true class of a world champion. He took the lead from the start and kept it until the chequered flag. The champion has made a superb exit from World Supersport and showed once again that he has been the best rider on the best bike all season. It’s a very exciting prospect to see him riding the bigger CBR Fireblade soon. Lorenzo had a tough time and his result was a little disappointing. He was battling in the early stages but couldn’t keep it going, which is a shame for him and the team.

Night Race




  Race Results - Losail - 5.380km, 15 laps
1  Michael van der Mark30m42.722sNEDHONDAPata Honda World Supersport Team
2  Ratthapark Wilairot+3.570sTHAHONDACore PTR Honda
3  Jules Cluzel+5.124sFRAMVMV Agusta RC
4  Lucas Mahias+5.476sFRAYAMAHAMG Competition
5  Kev Coghlan+5.578sGBRYAMAHADMC Panavto-Yamaha
6  Roberto Rolfo+8.275sITAKAWASAKITeam GO Eleven
7  Lorenzo Zanetti+8.965sITAHONDAPata Honda World Supersport Team
8  Kenan Sofuoglu+12.367sTURKAWASAKISan Carlo Puccetti Racing
9  Roberto Tamburini+22.923sITAKAWASAKISan Carlo Puccetti Racing
10  Massimo Roccoli+23.081sITAMVMV Agusta Reparto Corse
  Championship Standings
1  Michael van der Mark230 ptsNEDHONDAPata Honda World Supersport Team
2  Jules Cluzel148 ptsFRAMVMV Agusta RC
3  Florian Marino125 ptsFRAKAWASAKIKawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres
4  Lorenzo Zanetti112 ptsITAHONDAPata Honda World Supersport Team
5  Kenan Sofuoglu109 ptsTURKAWASAKISan Carlo Puccetti Racing
6  Patrick Jacobson99 ptsUSAKAWASAKIKawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres
7  Roberto Rolfo97 ptsITAKAWASAKITeam GO Eleven
8  Kenan Sofuoglu94 ptsTURKAWASAKISan Carlo Puccetti Racing
9  Ratthapark Wilairot70 ptsTHAHONDACore PTR Honda
10  Raffaele De Rosa70 ptsITAHONDACore PTR Honda
  Copyright-free images

Honda racing
Honda racing
Honda racing
Honda racing
Honda racing

© 2014 Pata Honda.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Keep it nice, but keep them coming!

---Please note---You can leave comments anonymously, but you can also leave them while logged into Google, Yahoo and other platforms.
We'd love to hear from you!

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.